Road to Full Frame

One of the photo-related goals I have for 2010 is to slowly migrate to full frame cameras. So obviously for a Nikon shooter I am looking at D700/D3s/D3x. D3x is pretty much out of the question as it is way too expensive, plus I have no need for the extra resolution and don’t want to compromise my shooting and processing speed. As for D3/D3s, I am too used to the non-integrated vertical grip cameras ever since I started using my D300. So that only left the D700.

It is widely expected that there will be an upgrade soon to the current D700, a D700s if you will, that has the new D3s sensor in it. Also it is to be expected the high-res D3x sensor will find a way into a D700 (D700x ?) body as well. Since PMA is just around the corner, I bet there will be announcement real soon now.

On the other hand, I have noticed that there are quite a few D700 on the used market with excellent price, some of them even are still in warranty. So my plan is to get a 2nd hand D700 now, and a D700s later when it is available. That way I will have a primary camera with another full frame camera as backup.

In an upcoming post I will talk about my lens strategy towards full frame.

~ by Clarence on January 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
